The Minister

MESSAGE FROM THE MINISTER OF SECONDARY EDUCATION TO THE EDUCATION COMMUNITY

BE PART OF THE CLEAN SCHOOL IDEA

 

Dear students,

Dear teachers,

Dear parents,

Dear partners,

Dear collaborators,

The 2017/2018 school year that has just ended has been a success generally-speaking, despite the odds.  To illustrate this, the national success rate for the various official examinations stands at 56.19% compared to 43.34% in 2017, scoring an increase of 12.85%.

This satisfactory result is undoubtedly the result of the strong involvement of various actors in the education community who have discharged their duties properly.

On 3 September 2018, the bells of the 2018/2019 school year will be ringing. This is the perfect opportunity for me to clarify the essential principles that will guide our actions. In this respect, I have decided to place this school year under the theme: “Clean Schools: the Pathway to Enhance National Integration.”

The notion of “Clean Schools” implies an “evolution” that positively impacts the quality of the supervision of learners. In other words, there is the need to make the school environment more attractive, conducive for work and rid of everything that is unethical and where there is the culture of hard work, merit and probity. I commit each one of you to the embellishment of the school environment at the physical, moral and intellectual levels.

At the Physical Level, the school milieu should be clean. In this respect, classrooms, walls, toilets, courtyards and playgrounds, water points will need to be maintained on a daily basis. Green spaces will also have to be created to beautify schools. We will ensure the qualitative and quantitative improvement of infrastructure and equipment: spacious classrooms, adapted specialised rooms, well-blackened boards, quality benches, etc. In addition, emphasis will be placed on the physical cleanliness of students through the good maintenance of their hair, the uniform which they display and the respect of basic principles of hygiene.

At the Moral Level, the fight against cheating, tribalism, spreading of false information, denunciation, hatred and the spread of hate messages, the unhealthy use of social networks, corruption and misappropriation of funds will be intensified. In the case of financial malpractice in particular, the collection of tuition and examination fees will be done exclusively by digital means. This change is part of our commitment to improving school governance and having reliable statistics.

We will also ensure that the values of conviviality, peace, fairness, harmony and social cohesion prevail, in short, living together in a multilingual and multicultural school environment. In the same vein, we will continue the struggle against indiscipline, absenteeism, alcoholism and the use of drugs which has become a serious ill in our society. To meet this challenge, special emphasis must be placed on discipline and monitoring of information units for the fight against drug use.

At the intellectual level, teachers are required to improve the quality of their services. As such, lessons should be prepared and delivered in strict compliance with the pedagogic and didactic approaches in force.

Students, for their part, will have to take their studies seriously in order to optimise their performance and ensure their socio-professional integration. In view of the emergence of Cameroon by 2035, they must behave as true actors of sustainable development. We must all manage our country’s diversity.

Parents, who form an important link in the educational chain, are called upon to play their role more in the mission of training and supervising the youth through the monitoring of students at home and participation in the life of the school.

While welcoming the strong involvement of our national and international partners in the modernisation  process of our educational system, we will continue to work together, in view of the challenges that await us at the technological, infrastructural, administrative and socio-environmental levels for the completion of the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) No. 4.

During the 2018/2019 school year, we will be guided by the aforementioned principles. I therefore urge all my collaborators to be part of this new orientation through effective management actions and the promotion of a healthy and friendly work environment. It is at this price that the “Clean School” notion can become the bedrock par excellence of national integration so dear to the Head of State, President of the Republic, His Excellency Paul Biya.

I wish each and everyone an excellent 2018/2019 school year.

THE MINISTER OF SECONDARY EDUCATION

Le Ministre

MESSAGE DU MINISTRE DES ENSEIGNEMENTS SECONDAIRES A LA COMMUNAUTE EDUCATIVE

FAISONS PARTIE DU CONCEPT « ECOLE PROPRE »

Chers élèves,

Chers enseignants,

Chers parents d’élèves,

Chers partenaires,

Chers collaborateurs, 

L’année scolaire 2017/2018 qui vient de s’achever s’est globalement bien déroulée en dépit des problèmes d’insécurité dans certaines régions du pays. A titre d’illustration, le taux national de réussite aux différents examens officiels est de  56,19% contre 43,34% en 2017, soit un accroissement de 12,85%.

Ce résultat satisfaisant est, sans doute, la résultante de la forte implication des différents acteurs de la communauté éducative qui se sont acquittés convenablement de leur devoir.

Le 03 septembre 2018, les carillons de l’année scolaire 2018/2019 vont retentir.  C’est donc l’occasion idoine pour moi de vous préciser les principes essentiels  qui vont guider notre action. Sous ce rapport, j’ai décidé de placer cette année scolaire sous le thème : « Ecole propre : gage du renforcement de l’intégration nationale ».

Le concept d’ « Ecole propre » suppose une « évolution » qui impacte positivement la qualité de l’encadrement des apprenants. En d’autres termes, il est question de rendre les milieux scolaires plus attractifs, propices au travail et débarrassés de tout ce qui est contraire à l’éthique, au culte de l’effort, au mérite et à la probité. A cet effet, j’engage chacun de vous, à l’embellissement de l’environnement scolaire au triple plan physique, moral et intellectuel.

Sur le plan physique, il s’agit de faire de l’espace scolaire un cadre sain. A cet égard, les salles de classes, les murs, les toilettes, les cours et aires de jeux, les points d’eau devront être entretenus au quotidien. Des espaces verts devront également être créés au sein des établissements pour leur rayonnement. L’on veillera à l’amélioration qualitative et quantitative des infrastructures et des équipements : salles de classes spacieuses, salles spécialisées adaptées, tableaux bien noircis, tables-bancs de qualité, etc. Par ailleurs, un point d’honneur sera  mis sur la propreté physique des élèves  à travers le bon entretien de leurs cheveux,  de l’uniforme qu’ils arborent et le respect des principes élémentaires  d’hygiène.

Sur le plan moral, la lutte contre la tricherie, le tribalisme, le colportage de fausses nouvelles, la délation, la haine, l’usage malsain des réseaux sociaux, la corruption et les malversations financières sera intensifiée. S’agissant particulièrement des malversations financières, la perception des frais exigibles, des frais des examens et concours officiels se fera exclusivement par voie numérique. Ce changement participe de notre volonté d’améliorer la gouvernance scolaire et de disposer des statistiques fiables.

Nous veillerons, en outre, à ce que triomphent  les valeurs de convivialité, de paix, d’équité, d’harmonie, de cohésion sociale, bref, du vivre ensemble dans un environnement scolaire multilingue et multiculturel. Dans le même sillage, nous poursuivrons la lutte contre l’indiscipline, l’absentéisme, l’alcoolisme et la consommation de la drogue, devenue un fléau grave dans notre société. Pour gagner ce pari, un accent particulier doit être mis sur  la discipline et la création des cellules de veille et d’alerte contre les stupéfiants.

Sur le plan intellectuel, il sera question pour les enseignants d’améliorer la qualité de leurs prestations. A ce titre, les cours devront être préparés et dispensés dans le strict respect des démarches pédagogiques et didactiques en vigueur.

Les élèves, quant à eux, devront prendre à cœur leurs études en vue d’optimiser leur rendement et d’assurer leur insertion socio-professionnelle. Dans la perspective de l’émergence du Cameroun à l’horizon 2035, ils doivent se comporter comme de véritables acteurs du développement durable.

Les parents, maillon important de la chaîne pédagogique, sont appelés à jouer  davantage leur partition dans la mission de formation et d’encadrement de la jeunesse, à travers le suivi des élèves à la maison et la participation à la vie de l’établissement.

Tout en saluant la forte implication de nos partenaires nationaux et internationaux dans l’entreprise de modernisation de notre système éducatif, nous continuerons à travailler ensemble au regard des défis qui nous interpellent aux plans technologique, infrastructurel, administratif et socio-environnemental pour la réalisation de l’Objectif de Développement Durable (ODD) n°4.

Durant  l’année  2018/2019, nous allons nous laisser guider par les principes sus énoncés. J’exhorte  donc tous mes collaborateurs à s’inscrire dans cette nouvelle orientation par des actions managériales efficaces et la promotion d’un climat de travail sain et convivial. C’est à ce prix que l’« Ecole propre » pourra   devenir  le creuset par excellence de l’intégration nationale si chère au Chef de l’Etat, le Président de la République, Son Excellence Paul Biya.

Je souhaite, à toutes et à tous, une excellente année scolaire 2018/2019.

Le Ministre des Enseignements Secondaires